Sarasota DUI Manslaughter – When Driving Under the Influence Becomes Disastrous
A charge of driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or a controlled substance, is in and of itself, a serious matter in the State of Florida. What happens when a DUI results in the taking of a life? The severity of the matter dramatically escalates and could easily result in an intoxicated driver spending over a decade behind bars.
Consider for a moment that you went out for a few drinks. You had a good time. You didn’t feel intoxicated and made the decision to get into your car and drive home. On your way, you lost control of your vehicle. Your car slammed into another vehicle that was adjacent to a nearby canal. The collision pushed the vehicle into the canal. The driver of the vehicle was buckled into the driver’s seat and was pushed into the canal along with his car. The driver could not remove himself and drowned.
This consideration is not a fictitious one. The above scenario is loosely taken from a recent Florida DUI manslaughter and vehicular homicide case. The case involved polo tycoon John Goodman. Mr. Goodman was recently sentenced to 16 years in jail and fined $10,000 after his drunk driving crash pushed a young man into a canal. The young man drowned to death. While Mr. Goodman denied being drunk at the time of the incident, his blood alcohol level was more than twice the legal limit three hours after the crash.
The above case is used to reiterate the severity of those DUI cases involving the death of another. These are DUI manslaughter cases and are perhaps the most severe DUI cases in the State of Florida. If you or a loved one has been charged with DUI manslaughter, there is no time to waste. Contact an experienced DUI defense attorney now to ensure your future is a protected one.
DUI Manslaughter in Sarasota
A charge of DUI manslaughter is an extreme matter. The law on this issue is relatively straightforward. If you were operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, or a controlled substance, and caused a car accident; and, this accident resulted in the death of another, you could be arrested and charged with DUI manslaughter.
DUI manslaughter is not just another DUI charge or arrest. The matter is one of the most severe under Florida law. As a result, the penalties for those convicted of this crime are among some of the most severe in DUI cases.
If a person is convicted of DUI manslaughter in Florida, he is essentially facing a second degree felony. More specifically, a conviction of this crime is punishable by up to 15 years in jail and carries with it a maximum fine of $10,000. There is also a mandatory lifetime driver’s license revocation upon conviction.
Now, consider the intoxicated driver that is involved in an accident, that causes death to another, and the driver flees the scene. The driver here can be charged with DUI manslaughter/leaving the scene. This is a first degree felony and a conviction can result in 30 years behind bars and a maximum fine of $10,000.
Dire Situations Require Immediate Action
DUI manslaughter is an extremely serious charge that has enormous potential repercussions on a person’s life. A charge of DUI manslaughter is not just another DUI case that involves the same standard penalties and the same basic case investigations. These DUI cases are among the most severe and the most complex.
While the law in this area is seemingly straightforward, the evidence involved is often quite scientific and involves expert testimony to explain allegations and rebut charges. DUI manslaughter cases are also typically prosecuted by the State’s best. These prosecutors are skilled, aggressive, and experienced.
Don’t let this intimidate you. If you or a loved one has been charged with DUI manslaughter, don’t take a back seat. There are potential defenses at your disposal. More importantly, there are experienced DUI attorneys within a phone call’s reach that are ready, able, and highly skilled to protect you and your future. Our firm is equipped with a highly experienced team of attorneys that is ready to assist you. Don’t let time run out. Contact us today and let us help!
Use our contact form or call (800) MUSCA-LAW now!