Driving under the influence (DUI) and taking a life are 2 issues the courts take very seriously. Being charged with both of these offenses can result in vigorous prosecution in the Florida court system. Anyone convicted of DUI or controlled substance DUI that is involved in an accident that contributes to someone else’s death in Florida will face stiff DUI manslaughter penalties.
Have you or a loved one been charged with DUI manslaughter in Sarasota, Florida? If so, you should contact Musca Law right away. A Sarasota DUI lawyer can help. The penalties for vehicular manslaughter convictions are very tough. Fines may be up to $10,000, with a mandatory minimum 4-year jail sentence upon the first conviction. This can stretch up to 15 years in prison, depending on your individual circumstances.
The sooner a Sarasota DUI manslaughter attorney begins working on your defense, the better your chances are for a positive outcome. At Musca Law, our skilled team of DUI lawyers will fight for your legal rights and prepare the best defense possible. We can help you contest these life-altering charges.
DUI Manslaughter Defense Options
Our Sarasota DUI attorneys can navigate you through the confusing and complicated legal process. We will look at all of the details of your case to determine the best options available in your defense. Sarasota DUI attorneys are often able to have evidence thrown out of a case that could otherwise be used against you by the prosecution. Through innovative defense tactics and use of pre-trial motions, Musca Law can help you achieve the best possible outcome.
Keep in mind that field sobriety testing, blood testing and breath testing are often considered unreliable in a court of law. Our savvy Sarasota DUI lawyers can work this to your advantage. Whether it is a case of improper procedure or questionable testing circumstances, we can help you reduce the devastating effects this may have on your life.
How Can DUI Manslaughter Affect Your Driver’s License?
A Sarasota DUI manslaughter conviction can complicate your future driving privileges. State law requires a minimum driver’s license reinstatement waiting period. Permanent revocation is also a possibility. Having a Sarasota DUI conviction does not have to mean you will never drive again. Contact Musca Law today to discuss your defense options.